How To Read A Horoscope Birth Chart

In this blog, we'll show you how to read your horoscope birth chart, enabling you to find out more about the powers that are impacting you at any given time.

Reading a horoscope birth chart is something that feels incredibly difficult to those who have never delved into astrology and its readings previously - there are so many factors that need to be considered that you can often feel as though you're lost within a sea of charts, zodiac signs, and birth chart calculators, which can all become a little confusing if you haven't been given the correct guidance. Whilst this is how many people feel, it doesn't have to be the case; being able to read your natal chart is something that everyone can learn, it simply takes a little bit of practice to master! In this blog, we'll show you how to read your horoscope birth chart, enabling you to find out more about the powers that are impacting you at any given time. With a little time spent in your house honing your skills and practising reading the charts, you're sure to pick up the tricks of the trade and be a natural horoscope reader in no time!

If you'd prefer to have your own horoscope read by a gifted psychic reader or astrologer, you're in luck! Here at Psychic Sofa, our team of readers have many years of experience offering trusted psychic readings, so you can enter your reading with the confidence that you're working with a gifted intuitive that'll be able to help you make sense of the world around you. Get in touch with us on 0905 789 1111 (calls cost 80p plus your network access charge) today to take part in one of your psychic phone readings, or browse the readers on our website for online psychic readings!

birth chart

Here are the different signs that you'll need to consider

Sun Sign

Whilst you may not be too familiar with the phrase 'sun sign', we're sure you're familiar with this reading - it's the sign that you're assigned when reading your regular horoscope, and is based on your date of birth. The Sun sign is all about you - it's focused on your own ego an essentially references who you are and how you identify yourself. In line with this, each Sun Sign has a very specific set of traits and personality characteristics that make them easily identifiable by their sign. Whilst other readings may vary from time to time, your Sun Sign will always remain as it is and will never deviate.  

Moon Sign

Moon Signs reference your emotional state and the factors that a person requires to feel safe, secure, and nurtured throughout their lives. Because of this, your Moon Sign can often be a ruling force when it comes to emotion, as you'll make your decisions in a way that are most likely to bring you the happiest emotion in the long run. Your moon time is based upon the location of the moon at your exact time of birth, so this reading will also remain the same for your entire life, never straying from its original reading.

Ascendant Sign

You may also have seen your ascendant sign referenced as a rising sign, but don't worry - they are the exact same thing. This sign is used to represent the position of the stars at your time of birth, which is said to have a large impact on first impressions and initial encounters with others. This sign is perhaps the most difficult to read, as the time of birth must be very specific; the ascendant sign changes every two hours, so if you aren't accurate with your times, you may make an inaccurate reading.

horoscope chart

Inner Planets

The planets are where things can start to get a little bit more tricky - in this reading, you'll be using the planets to decipher personality traits, but each planet will only represent a specific factor of your character. The inner planets are Mercury, Venus, Mars, The Sun, and The Moon, and are said to rule your personal side; think of the inner planets as the foundation upon which your core personality is formed.

Mercury rules your mind, whilst Venus rules love and Mars rules your actions and energy. This will never change, but what will be affected is your outlook on each of these individual things based on the sign that the planet happened to be in when you were born. You may hear this phrased as "Venus in Aries", which essentially translates to mean that your Venus personality traits (which are those of love) will be controlled by the characteristics of Aries, which is one of the most playful and flirtatious star signs when it comes to romance, meaning your love life could be one that's filled with passion and fire.

Outer Planets

The outer planets differ from the inner planets in the fact that they do not necessarily reference your personality or deep personal traits but instead focus on the factors the will make your life a special one. The outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, and will have more of an abstract impact on your life.

In terms of the things that these planets rule, here is a brief overview:

  • Jupiter - luck and progress
  • Saturn - fears and self-discipline
  • Uranus - change
  • Neptune - dreams and healing
  • Pluto - power and transformation

As with the inner planets, the placement of these planets in relation to your time of birth will dictate how you approach each of these factors.

Ruling Planet

Your ruling planet is the planet that is assigned to your ascending sign, which we spoke about earlier on. Each planet has one, or possibly two depending on the specific planet, signs that it rules, so it's fairly straightforward to work out which planet is your ruling planet. To do this, you'll need to take your sun sign and match it up to the list below:

  • The Sun rules Leo
  • The Moon rules Cancer
  • Mercury rules Gemini and Virgo
  • Venus rules Taurus and Libra
  • Mars rules Aries (and also has minor rule over Scorpio)
  • Jupiter rules Sagittarius (and also has minor rule over Pisces)
  • Saturn rules Capricorn (and also has minor rule over Aquarius)
  • Uranus rules Aquarius
  • Neptune rules Pisces
  • Pluto rules Scorpio

By following the above steps, you should now be able to navigate your way through the maze of horoscope reading with a little more ease, allowing you to make better use of the information that's presented to us by the moon, sun, and stars! If you'd like to carry on learning about horoscopes and the Zodiac, our telephone psychic readings are a fantastic way to develop a deeper understanding. In a session with one of our gifted astrologers, you'll be able to dive deeper into the meanings of each position on your birth chart, then map out the planets, stars, and signs which are ruling your life. By knowing what's at play, it becomes much easier to take control of your life and start to make positive changes moving forwards. You can take part in a psychic reading by browsing on our available readers page, or alternatively by calling one of our talented readers today on 0905 789 1111 where calls will cost 80p per minute plus your network access charge.


No comments have been made yet

Submit A Comment

Welcome to Psychic Sofa! If you need any help, please use the contact button below. We're always happy to help!

Contact Us

Live Chat Support

If you have any questions or need some help, our support team are just a click away

Visit Support

View Our Readers

View all our readers and find your perfect match

Find a reader